Our support center can help you get a quote and get you questions answered
New Jersey Car Insurance
Good2Go Auto Insurance wants you to get the car insurance coverage you need to get on the road. Before you buy auto insurance from Good2Go, it's important to know New Jersey's car insurance laws so you can make sure you're meeting the legal requirements for your state.
New Jersey Car Insurance Laws
Under New Jersey car insurance laws, car insurance is mandatory for all vehicles registered in the state of New Jersey. According to the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance, Basic Policy coverage available for all drivers is as follows:
- Personal injury protection coverage of $15,000 per person, per accident
- Property damage liability coverage of at least $5,000 per accident
- Bodily injury coverage is not included, but purchasing $10,000 worth of coverage for all persons, per accident is optional
The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance recommends drivers with additional responsibilities, such as having a family, should consider more auto insurance coverage to protect them financially. For more information about buying or renewing an auto insurance policy, please take a look at the New Jersey Auto Insurance Buyer's Guide and read the New Jersey Automobile Consumer Bill of Rights to learn about your rights and obligations as an insured driver.
New Jersey Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance
Getting behind the wheel of an uninsured vehicle is against the law in the state of New Jersey. Drivers who do not have car insurance could suffer severe economic losses such as fines ranging from $300 to $1,000. Additional penalties for driving uninsured include suspension of your driver's license or registration, community service, even jail time.
If a second offense of driving without insurance occurs, penalties include 14 days in jail, a fine up to $5,000, community service, court costs, and a suspension of your driver's license for at least two years.
New Jersey DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Another serious driving offense that can result in severe penalties is driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI). The NJ Motor Vehicle Commission states that a driver's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that is above 0.08% is considered to be driving under the influence. Mandatory fines and penalties for first time conviction of a DUI/DWI include:
- 3 months to 1 year of license loss
- Thousands of dollars in fines, fees and surcharges
- Up to 30 days in prison
New Jersey Cell Phone and Texting while Driving Laws
In New Jersey, the use of hand-held devices like cellphones and smartphones is strictly prohibited. That means it is illegal to text or talk on your phone while driving. This law applies to all drivers. If you are caught violating this law, you will be fined $100.
New Jersey SR-22 Insurance Documents
The state of New Jersey does not require drivers to file SR-22 insurance documents. But if you are a driver from outside of New Jersey, you may be required to file an SR-22 from your state's Division of Motor Vehicles. These documents will be needed to reinstate your license and registration if you are convicted of a DUI, drive without adequate insurance and other traffic offenses.
Cheap Car Insurance in New Jersey
If you're looking for cheap car insurance in New Jersey, Good2Go Insurance may be able to help. We offer low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road for less.
Get a free New Jersey car insurance quote from Good2Go.com today and drive legal for less.